Confession of Shame by @JakeDelToro

I’m sat looking at a list of sixty-one films. Well, I was before I started writing this. Why, you ask?

Well, I’ll come to that. Let me start at the beginning…

A few weeks back while perusing Letterbox’d, I thought I’d make a list of all the movies that I feel like I ‘should’ have seen by now. How do you go about qualifying films for a list like that though? Hmmm, tough question. The answer is as follows; any film that when talking to a fellow film fan would elicit a scathing response such as the one demonstrated here: “WHAT??? You haven’t seen Raging Bull?!? That’s ridiculous, everyone has seen that movie! You need to watch it immediately” So I set about creating such a list, for my own reference, so that I could tick off the films on it as and when I watched them.

Back to me staring at my list…

Earlier this evening (21st January) I spied the following exchange between @007hertzrumble and @campbelldropout:

Tweets

Perfect! I had to get in on the action. And that is why I was sat looking at a list of 61 films.

I was trying to narrow my own list down to just 12 films which I will be watching at a rate of one per month and then writing about the film here. It was quite a difficult process. Essentially, I had to pick one out of every five movies on my list to watch. How do you possibly narrow a list like that down, after all these are all films that are considered ‘classics’. Well eventually I just thought “Bollocks to it” and scanned the list quickly and picked out films that stood out from the pack. Not necessarily the twelve that would be considered the most classic but twelve films that I am genuinely excited to watch and feel could make for an interesting topic to write about. I have tried to make it a varied list taking in many genres and styles.

So here it is:

  1. 2001: A Space Odyssey
  2. The Wild Bunch
  3. When Harry Met Sally
  4. Manhattan
  5. Raging Bull
  6. First Blood
  7. Fargo
  8. A Nightmare on Elm Street
  9. Casablanca
  10. Badlands
  11. Once Upon a Time in The West
  12. My Neighbor Totoro

Over the next twelve months I will be watching these films, one a month, and then documenting my progress and thoughts on the films as I go along.

First up: First Blood.

2 thoughts on “Confession of Shame by @JakeDelToro

  1. Can’t wait until you get to Badlands. That;s my favorite movie in the sense that oxygen is my favorite element in the earth’s atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

