And the Number of the Shaming Shall Be 12 by @echidnabot

 

 

 

 

The assignment: Find twelve films I haven’t seen that leave a gaping hole in my study/love/knowledge of film.  Simple, right?  After all, I have a list on letterboxd with close to 200 films I want to see.   I think this is a different list though.  As I grew up in the United States and in the suburbs, I watched a lot of American and some British films on TV.  I don’t have stories of walking to the theatre every Saturday or having an art house down the street.  Going to the movies meant conning someone’s mother into driving a gang of us to the nearest theatre where we’d see something new.  I have seen some foreign and a lot of cult films, but I never studied film formally so I know I’ve missed a bunch.  I did see Monty Python and the Holy Grail and Polyester at plain old suburban theatres so chalk those up for the suburbs.  I still remember my dad’s taking me to a Kenmore Square revival house to see Blow Up when I was twelve.  We talked about it all the way to our bleacher seats at Fenway which we bought, day of, for $2.50.  I digress.  Here’s my list of shame.  They’re in no order so I’m not sure when I’ll watch what.  Plus, I have thirteen because Un Chien Andalou is only fifteen minutes long.  Here goes nuthin’.

Raging Bull
Yojimbo
Bicycle Thieves
Get Carter (yes, the original)
Rashomon
The Yakuza
Persona
The 400 Blows
Un Chien Andalou
La Dolce Vita
Bob Le Flambeur
The Servant
Withnail & I

I managed to find most of these on Netflix, You Tube, and my local library, but if one eludes me, I’ll switch it out for The Killing of a Chinese Bookie.

2 thoughts on “And the Number of the Shaming Shall Be 12 by @echidnabot

  1. Heavy. Persona and Un Chien Andalou. I CANNOT WAIT for your writeup of Un Chien Andalou. You’re also getting acquainted with some of my favorites. 400 Blows and La Dolce Vita are absolutely essential in my book. Both are mesmerizing.

Leave a Reply

