My List by @campbelldropout

First of all, I want to thank @007hertzrumble for putting this site together and his excitement for this project/adventure and for paying attention to my twitter posts (finally someone pays attention to me). Second, I want to thank @QuelleLove and @LaurasMiscMovie for creating and discussing a list of classic films they will watch in 2014 which gave me the idea of creating a list of classic films that I need to see for the year.

Now the films I have chosen to watch over the next year are consider the classics, either classic in the sense of all film history or classic to a specific genre or both. I believe most of these films will fall under both. There are various reasons I have not seen these films but I have narrowed it down to three.

  1. Time – Out of the 12 films I have picked only two are under 100 minutes long. It’s tough to find time to watch a 100 minute film let alone a 150 minute film.
  2. Netflix – Instead of sitting down watching Citizen Kane (run time 119 minutes), I end up watching Stolen (run time 96 minutes) with Nicolas Cage. I never seem to learn my lesson and always fall for this trap.
  3. Critical reception – These are some of the greatest films ever made but what if I dislike them or worse cannot understand what is going on. Well, this is really no longer an issue, but I believe it is one reason why I didn’t watch these films when I was younger. If I watched The Godfather and hated it, did that mean I could never be a film lover?

Below is my list of films for the year, I have switched three films around in order to complete a film for this month. The first film was originally going to be Blade Runner but I have pushed that to February because I wanted to watch the theatrical version of the film and not the director’s cut. For this month I will be watching On the Waterfront and hope to have a post up by next Thursday discussing the film.

January – On the Waterfront (January 30, 2014)

February – Blade Runner (February 27, 2014)

March – The Wild Bunch (March 27, 2014)

April – Infernal Affairs (April 24, 2014)

May – Seven Samurai (May 29, 2014)

June – Citizen Kane (June 26, 2014)

July – The Godfather (July 31, 2014)

August – The Godfather: Part II (August 28, 2014)

September – Taxi Driver (September 25, 2014)

October – Halloween (October 30, 2014)

November – Seventh Seal (November 27, 2014)

December – It’s a Wonderful Life (December 26, 2014)

Leave a Reply

