@Peaceman630, a lifelong procrastinator, ready to face my Cinema Shame

I was a premature baby.

I decided I just had to be born a few weeks early despite the fact that I hadn’t yet finished cooking. Aside from that it’s hard to recall too many things in my life that I haven’t waited until the last possible minute to address or creative projects that I haven’t stretched long past the due date. Case-in-point, here I am writing my first post to this wonderful blog on February 1st. I’m late to the party but happy to be here.

I’ll give you another example: @MisterGreggles, who is my best friend, gave me a DVD of the John C. Reilly film “Hard Eight” back in 2007 for my birthday. I wanted to watch it. I had the time to watch it. But perhaps not the will. Each time we’d hang out he’d ask me if I’d watched the film hoping to engage in a lively discussion on its merits. “Nope, not yet. I’ll get to it eventually though, I promise” was the common refrain. It got to the point where I resolved to watch the film and made a semi-serious, mostly-jokey ultimatum. Something to the effect of: “If I don’t watch this film by the end of the week I will renounce our friendship, that’s how much watching this means to me because I consider you my dearest friend.”

Technically speaking we haven’t been friends since 2007.

In any case, you get the extent to which I need to change my evil ways and I think this blog will be a great opportunity to do so while also meeting you fantastic people and sharing in your stories as well. Thank you to @campbelldropout and @007hertzrumble for allowing me to contribute, and thank you to @mistergreggles for encouraging me to get with the program.

And now the list:

January (oops, already off to a late start) –  The Artist

February – The Stunt Man

March- Smokey and the Bandit

April – Lawrence of Arabia

May – The Man with the Movie Camera

June – Chinatown

July – Jaws

August – High Noon

September – Animal House

October – Rope

November – Breakfast at Tiffanys

December – Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

You’ll notice Hard Eight didn’t make the cut for this year, but don’t worry Greg I’ll get to it eventually.
I promise.
Leave a Reply

