Barbarella…It was what I thought it was. And I was still surprised.

20140227-001540.jpg

Oh 1968. A great year in film that brought us 2 seminal science fiction pictures, Planet of the Apes and 2001: A Space Odyssey. However we forget there was a third.

Barbarella.

That mind shattering Science Fiction epic starring Academy Award winner Jane Fonda in a groundbreaking roll.

To answer your question, I did not use the incorrect word. I meant roll as in the opening credits that have Fonda rolling in zero-g as she removes her space suit.

As far as legitimate substance in the movie Fonda’s body is all you get. Which isn’t bad when you get a chance to see it. However you do have to go through portions of the actual movie to get there.

I know I’m being unfair, it was a bad movie that became a cult classic. I get that. For me however it just wasn’t fun to get through. Every movie doesn’t have to be The Godfather, but I do like to have fun. I’ve seen plenty of B Movies and love those as much as I love my classics.

One thing I will say about Barbarella. I don’t know what Fonda’s thoughts were while making the movie, but I don’t think for one second she phoned it in. Maybe that’s because of her bloodline or she legitimately had fun while making it. And if either one of those assessments are correct, then she certainly is one of our treasured acting gems.

Despite that I didn’t enjoy it I am glad that I have gotten this off my list of shame. It is a part of cinema lore and should be seen whether you like it or not.

This is pretty much all you need. Part of me wishes I could see Jane Fonda back in the 60s

20140327-123153.jpg

20140327-123219.jpg

20140327-123635.jpg

20140327-123820.jpg

One thought on “Barbarella…It was what I thought it was. And I was still surprised.

Leave a Reply

