More shame…Ingmar Bergman’s The Seventh Seal

20140805-111012-40212273.jpg

How many times have I seen the above image and never knew what it was from. How shameful is that?

The recent sale on Criterion titles at Barnes & Noble has drastically changed my list of shame. So many titles both favorites and films I’ve never seen. I personally have never seen any films directed by Ingmar Bergman. I know of his films and reputation, yet nothing seemed to interest me. Until I was on the Criterion website and watched the trailer for The Seventh Seal. A film that gives the appearance of a period drama, but in fact is a live action allegory for the man who loses faith.

20140805-115126-42686121.jpg
Antonius Block (played by Max Von Sydow) is a knight who has just returned from battle in the Crusades. After leaving for war strong in his faith, fighting for God, Block is wavering in his faith. He wants knowledge that God exists and is listening to him. While on a beach with his squire Block sees Death standing before him ready to claim his life. Block decides to challenge Death to a game of chess in order to prolong his life.

I loved this film from start to finish. I am not much of an Art House cinema guy. I am definitely much more Hollywood in my viewing. But what I loved about this was how Hollywood it felt even though it’s a Swedish film. High production values also shine for me as this is one beautifully shot picture. In particular the scene of Block and Death sitting down to begin their game.

20140805-115511-42911312.jpg

I also love how although this film is meant to be much more than what we see on the screen and what the actual story is about, it’s themes stand out to me without being explicitly stated or preached. Block has become disillusioned. He wants to know if his faith had meaning, yet when Death comes for him, he wants to stall in order to try to fulfill something meaningful in his life. These are the things that as Christian should want to do. Find ways of service to others. This leads me to think that by the end of the film, Block regains what he thought he lost.

The Seventh Seal is a brilliant film that I would recommend to anyone. Cinephile or not. Great technical work, solid acting, and easy to identify themes. I once was ashamed, but now no more.

20140805-115030-42630105.jpg

One thought on “More shame…Ingmar Bergman’s The Seventh Seal

Leave a Reply

