31 Days of Horror

 

 

 

 

skully

I love Halloween. I decorate every room in my house and fill my yard with skeletons, gravestones, and disembodied heads. I am the only one in my neighborhood who does it. I know I’m not the only one in the world though. Many adults with kids get a kick out of Halloween. They love seeing the cute costumes and the reaction of their children to spooky decorations. Well, my kid is seventeen now and I’m still doing it. For years I made her costumes and helped her make invitations to her yearly Halloween party. Did I do it because I’m a good mom? Possibly. I think it might also be that I love making skull cookies and punch with an ice hand floating in it. I love using toilet paper dowels and glow sticks to fill my bushes with glowing eyes. I also love horror movies. I’m a big fan of psychological and atmospheric horror, but I welcome gore as well.

ting

This year, I plan on watching a horror film every day in October. I will write a little something about each film. I won’t write tomes, just short posts consisting of impressions or highlights of each film. I’ll post links on twitter and use the #31DaysofHorror

Since I’m planning to watch some horror films I’ve never seen before, I’ll post on cinemashame.wordpress.com and my own blog prowlerneedsajump.wordpress.com throughout the month.

I’m @echidnabot on twitter.

1-Eyes Without a Face (1960)
2-The Man Who Cheated Death (1959)
3-The Savage Bees (1976)
4-In the Mouth of Madness (1994)
5-Fearless Vampire Killers (1967)
6-The Cat and the Canary (1939)
7-Suspiria (1977)
8-The Innocents (1961)
9-The Fog (1980)
10-Vault of Horror (1973)
11-Kill, Baby Kill (1966)
12-The Deadly Bees (1966)
13-Equinox (1970)
14-The Legend of Hell House (1973)
15-Mark of the Devil (1970)
16-Wolf Creek 2 (2013)
17-The Devil’s Rain (1975)
18-Carnival of Souls (1962)
19-Terror Out of the Sky (1978)
20-Dementia 13 (1963)
21-Berberian Sound Studio (2012)
22-Black Sunday (1960)

I’ll admit there are a few on this list I’ve always wanted to see and a few I just haven’t seen. I thought I’d throw them on this list for fun. For instance, I’ve wanted to see Suspiria, Black Sunday, and The Innocents for ages. The Slime People, not so much. That’s ok. I have to lighten it up too.

Since it’s 31 Days of Horror and not 22 Days of Horror and 9 Days of Annoyance, here are the other 9 films I plan to watch. I’ve seen these before, but they fit the parameters. Boo.

Torture Garden (1967)
Homicidal (1961)
The Uninvited (1944)
The Creature From the Black Lagoon 3D (1954)
The Thing (1982)
Poltergeist (1982)
C.H.U.D. (1984)
Tales From the Crypt (1972)
Dawn of the Dead (1978)
Shock (1946)
Wait Until Dark (1967)
Let the Right One In (2008)
Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (1987)

lee-shame

Leave a Reply

