2014 Cinema Shame Review

2014 was a good year for me and I hope it was for everyone else. The wife and I moved back to the Raleigh-Durham area, which cut my commute from 1 hour down to about 15 minutes, she started her second year residency, and I finally became a permanent employee at my job (basically a larger salary and benefits, glorious benefits). I got a new computer about two weeks ago, finally putting the ole Lenovo to rest. I must say it was an extremely good year with one main disappointment being the failure to post updates regarding my cinema shame. There were a few tweets here and there but no posts and I feel bad for not posting it when others provided their updates. I hope to change that this year and what better way to accomplish a new goal than by stretching to an even higher number. That’s right folks, instead of decreasing the list I will be increasing it, if I fail, I should feel 67% more like a failure than in 2014.

Is there a better way to signify the end of something than by putting it in the form of list showing an order?

  1. Seven Samurai
  2. Halloween
  3. Taxi Driver
  4. The Godfather
  5. On The Waterfront
  6. The Wild Bunch
  7. The Godfather Part II
  8. Seventh Seal
  9. Blade Runner
  10. It’s A Wonderful Life
  11. Infernal Affairs
  12. Citizen Kane

The first four in the list are can rightfully be called great films. I will put some blame on “Taxi Driver” for derailing my posts because I struggled writing about the film. I don’t know how many times I started the post and failed to get further than a few paragraphs, I had no idea where to start. I was shocked by the film, I just felt sympathy for Travis as a character which is what made it so hard to write about the film.

“The Godfather” was a joy but my main hang up was Pacino, compared to Brando and Caan he is not on their level, I never felt he really held his own until Part II when he argues with Keaton about the abortion.

October was “Halloween”, I knew it was a classic for the Horror genre but I was shocked by how great it is as just a piece of cinema. It can stand up on its own as one of the greatest films ever made. Also, it may be the best Blu-Ray transfer out of this group of films.

Then on December 31st at 6:00 p.m. I finished “Seven Samurai”, out of all the films, I really knew nothing about this movie went in completely blind, I take that back I knew the run time was 3 hours and 27 minutes. The lack of knowledge gave me no expectations about the film. I don’t know how to put its greatness into words. It’s just a masterpiece of cinema.

If there was one disappointment it had to be “Citizen Kane”. I had high hopes for this film, how could I not have high hopes, it is considered one of the greatest films of all time if not the greatest. The film is well crafted and I am amazed by the effects Welles was able to pull off. My issue with the film was related to the story I just didn’t find it interesting and I’m going to say I was bored with it. Saying I was bored isn’t good criticism so I plan to elaborate more in the future.

Well I’m kind of running against the clock for a 12:00 pm showing of Foxcatcher. I will post my 2015 Cinema Shame list tonight.

Leave a Reply

