12 Films I Should Have Seen

Hi, here’s my list of shame and some excuses for not having seen them.

1) Blithe Spirit (1945, David Lean)

Last year I had to write introductory notes for a screening of Lean’s Brief Encounter and was surprised on finally seeing the film at how great it was. For many Brief Encounter represents a genteel form of cinema and I bought into this theory. Now I think it’s one of the few really poetic British movies. Lean also collaborated with Noel Coward on the screenplay for Blithe Spirit so I’m really looking forward to finally seeing this.

2) Hamlet (1948, Laurence Olivier)

Avoided this on purpose. I’ve seen clips from this so I know well enough Larry puts the ham in Hamlet.

3) Pickpocket (1959, Robert Bresson)

To be fair I have seen the two Paul Schrader movies where he nicks the ending (American Gigolo, Light Sleeper) so he kind of spoiled the movie for me. Twice.

4) Les Doulos (1962, Jean-Pierre Melville)

Been putting this off because there are only so many Melville movies in existence and I’m too close to being a completist.

5) Downhill Racer (1969, Michael Ritchie)

Debut film from the wonderfully eclectic Michael Ritchie. Long unavailable on any format in the UK. I have just ordered the Criterion Collection from the US.

6) Alice Doesn’t Live Here Anymore (1974, Martin Scorsese)

I saw Gas Food Lodging (1992, Allison Anders) and liked it so much I figured why bother with the Scorsese film.

7) The Sugarland Express (1974, Steven Spielberg)

Only Spielberg I haven’t seen. I just couldn’t be bothered with it to be honest.

8) Nashville (1975, Robert Altman)

Tried it when I was a teenager and gave up. I should at least give Nashville a second chance if only because we’re the same age.

9) That Sinking Feeling (1979, Bill Forsyth)

I’m ashamed to say I had no idea this existed until a few years ago. I always thought Gregory’s Girl (81) was Forsyth’s debut. I’m Scottish so no excuses for not having seen this one.

10) Berlin Alexanderplatz (1980, Rainer Werner Fassbinder)

I’ve been to Berlin Alexanderplatz. Very nice it was too. Never seen the Fassbinder version though.

11) The Shawshank Redemption (1994, Frank Darabont)

Nobody saw this film when it came out. Nobody. I’ve avoided on purpose due to a strong dislike for everything else Darabont has ever done since.

12) Love Actually (2004, Richard Curtis)

Consider watching this penance for having not having seen all the other films on my list.

Leave a Reply

