Third Time’s a Charm? (Shame Statement 2017)

Listen, if they can reboot the Spiderman franchise 3 times with each successive series of films being BETTER than the last…ok obviously we don’t know if Spiderman: Homecoming is actually going to be any good but this analogy started off poor and it’s not getting any better so I’ll just halt it now…

Every new year holds the promise of great accomplishments to come. For the past two January’s I have posted a list of films that I want to watch and write about here on this blog. For the past two years I have petered out after one or two decent entries. (Actually the Spiderman franchise analogy does work pretty well here.) I have barely made a dent in my list of cinema shames over these past few years and I really want to turn that around in 2017 so I’m giving it another go.

I look forward to seeing all of your entries in the new year, and being inspired to finally tackle this list!


January – Selma
February – The Stunt Man
March – Smokey and the Bandit
April – Lawrence of Arabia
May – The Man with the Movie Camera
June – Chinatown
July – High Noon
August – Animal House
September – Rope
October – Breakfast at Tiffany’s
November – Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
December – White Christmas

2 thoughts on “Third Time’s a Charm? (Shame Statement 2017)

  1. I should do this, it is have to admit to gaps that I really don’t want to fill. Yes, I just saw I Walked with a Zombie for the first time, but I wanted to watch it! By contrast, I don’t want to watch Forrest Gump, Saving Private Ryan, or The Godfather. What’s a gal to do?

    • Ah there’s no point in subjecting yourself to a ‘classic’ if it holds no interest for you other than to say ‘Oh, yeah I’ve seen that one.’ You may catch it on cable someday and be pleasantly surprised, or not. I can appreciate a film like The Godfather as a classic, but I don’t feel the need to watch it again. If Zombies are your cup of tea then watch that ish!

Leave a Reply

