2018 Cinema Shame List

For the past week I’ve been thinking about what to include in my Cinema Shame list for 2018. With the change in prompt, I’ve decided to limit the overall picks for the year to provide some wiggle room for additional films throughout the year. I used several resources to compile this list including the following: previous shame lists, contributors lists of shame, conversations on twitter, Danny Peary’s film books, various film books by critics and of course the intimidating “to watch pile” (stop judging me unopened Phenomena blu-ray).

2018 Cinema Shame List

Touch of Evil – Orson Welles is a true blind spot in my cinematic viewing.

Malcolm X – Denzel Washington and Spike Lee.

Zardoz – I would say Connery is an icon however I’ve only seen his Bond films and his work from the mid 90s to his retirement.

Two Lane Blacktop – Everybody needs more Warren Oates in their cinematic diet.

The Thing – This will be watched, no matter this will be watched for 2018. It’s been on my list since 2015, I’ve owned the DVD for years and I’ve had the Shout Factory blu-ray for months. This will come off the list.

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Deaconsden discussion of the western genre in his 2018 Cinema Shame list has pushed this title onto my list. A genre that is sorely lacking in my catalog of watches. Also, this was a previous entry on past Cinema Shame statements.

Pale Rider – A discussion on twitter about Eastwood’s directing made me realize excluding stuff from the past 15 years and Unforgiven, I’ve watched very little of his directed films. Probably the least exciting entry of the group especially after watching Heartbreak Ridge and the first hour of Firefox.

Alien 3 – I like David Fincher and the first two Alien films.

Short Cuts – From the to watch pile and I’ve watched so little Altman.

Hell in the Pacific – Lee Marvin.

Pretty Poison – Recommendation from Danny Peary’s Guide for the Film Fanatic and a co-worker recommended this film within the past month.

One thought on “2018 Cinema Shame List

Leave a comment