March Prompt – Pirates and Swashbucklers

Top of the month to all the Cinema Shamers out there in the interwebs. A new month brings us a new prompt. We decided to focus on a specific genre which will be swashbucklers and pirates. Why this prompt for the month of March? Because a pirate’s favorite month is Maaarrrggch.

 

I added some space from the last sentence to let you  catch your breath after all the laughter. The swashbuckler/pirate genre is a blind spot in my film viewing history. I’ve seen the first “Pirates of the Caribbean” film, “Hook”, “Waterworld”, that Kevin Costner Robin Hood movie and maybe a few others but the previously mentioned are the only ones that come to mind. There is a large number of these films out there I have never even seen and I’m sure I’m overlooking films that fall into this genre. I have one specific film I want to tackle and then a specific actor. For March, I plan to watch “Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World” and something starring Errol Flynn. I remember receiving a DVD copy of “Master and Commander” as a member of Columbia House back in the day and I never watched it, even after paying $19.95. Sadly, I still have that issue of purchasing movies and never watching them. As for Errol Flynn, this guy is an icon for swashbucklers, it’s a name synonymous with swashbuckler . I plan to rectify these shames during the month of Maaarrrggch.

Feel free to join us and update us on your cinematic watches this month. You can tweet us @Cinemashame or email us at cinemashame@gmail.com. If you do a post on your own blog for this month’s prompt let us so we can announce it from the rooftops. 

It will be up to @007hertzrumble if stating Maaarrrggch in your shame statement is a requirement. 

We look forward to hearing about everybody’s picks and responses.

Use one of the following banners in your post and link back to Cinema Shame to spread the good word, matey.

CinemaShame_Swashbuckler1CinemaShame_Swashbuckler2

2 thoughts on “March Prompt – Pirates and Swashbucklers

Leave a comment